V. Vīķe-Freiberga saņems Trumena-Reigana Brīvības medaļu

Komunisma upuru memoriāla fonds ASV (The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation) 2011. gada 5. maijā paziņojis, ka 2011. gada Trumena-Reigana Brīvības medaļu piešķīris bijušajai Latvijas Republikas Valsts prezidentei V. Vīķei-Freibergai.

Former Latvian President Vaira Vike-Freiberga to Receive VOCMF Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom

May 5, 2011

Washington, DC. The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation announced today that it will be presenting its 2011 Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom to former Latvian President Vaira Vike-Freiberga. Dr. Vike-Freiberga served as President of Latvia from 1999–2007 and was the first woman to head a post-communist Eastern European country.

The Medal of Freedom is awarded each year by the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation to those individuals and institutions that have demonstrated a life-long commitment to freedom and democracy and opposition to communism and all other forms of tyranny.

The medal presentation is expected to take place later this year.

Dr. Vike-Freiberga was born on December 1, 1937 in Riga, Latvia, but fled her homeland in 1944 with her family to escape the Soviet occupation. Via Germany and French Morocco, the family eventually settled in Canada in 1954. Receiving her B.A. and M.A. in Psychology from the University of Toronto, she obtained a Ph.D. in experimental psychology from McGill University. She taught in the Department of Psychology at the University of Montreal from 1965-1998. In October 1998 she returned to Latvia to become the Director of the newly founded Latvian Institute in Riga.

As president, she played a leading role in helping Latvia achieve NATO and European Union membership. She used the platform of president to tackle important social and moral issues, and engage in groundbreaking historical dialogue regarding democracy and the legacy of communism and World War II. For her work, she was awarded the 2005 Hannah Arendt Prize for political thought. On June 7, 2006 President Vike-Freiberga addressed a Joint Session of the United States Congress.

The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation honors the more than 100 million people who died under communism and is dedicated to educating this generation and future generations about the history, philosophy and legacy of communism.

Previous recipients of the Medal of Freedom include Vaclav Havel, Pope John Paul II, Lech Walesa, Vytautas Landsbergis, Elena Bonner, Senator Joseph Lieberman, Senator Jesse Helms, Lane Kirkland, William F. Buckley Jr., Michael Novak, and Major General John Singlaub, USA (ret).

In 2010, the medal was presented to Chinese dissident and Laogai Museum Director Harry Wu, Lithuanian parliamentarian Emanuelis Zingeris, and British historian Robert Conquest.


Papildus informācija